All favourites succeeded in the hilly middle distance Q

6. 7. 2021

The third medal race day and the second individual race day has started at a hilly venue near Smržovka in the Jizera mountains. Fifteen fastest runners from each heat and another 13 men and eleven women selected according to the criteria supporting the equal representation of nations qualified for the final race.

Three heats in each category were comprised of 102 men and 83 women competitors for whom the course setter prepared a very challenging courses in mountain terrain with thick forests, rock fields, granite boulders and steep hills. The winners of the heats managed to push down the time to between 28 and 31 minutes on courses with the length of 3.5 km and 200 m elevation gain for women, and 4 km and 265 m of climb for men. The fastest men in the individual heats were Norwegian Kasper Harlem Fosser, together with Swiss runner Matthias Kyburz and Lucas Basset from France. The big favourite of the race, Swedish runner Tove Alexandersson, conquered the women’s heat B, whilst Sabine Hauswirth of Switzerland and Marie Olaussen representing Norway were the best in the other two heats.

Lucas Basset flew through the challenging qualifying course in the time of 28 minutes and 44 seconds, despite the fact that he had to struggle with a stuck thorn in his shoe. “It was a good and controlled race for me, super nice and super tough too. I didn’t expect the feeling to be so exhausting but I guess it’s the same for everyone. I could find my controls without any major problems. I got a stick in my shoe at the beginning so it was quite stressful because it was a bit painful but I decided to continue and pushed even a bit harder,” commented the French athlete on his qualification performance .

The final race which will bring on the fight for the third set of medals starts at 16:04 for men and 17:33 for the women’s class.

Winners of each heat


  • 1. Kasper Fosser (NOR)
  • 2. Ruslan Glibov (UKR)
  • 3. Daniel Hubmann (SUI)


  • 1. Matthias Kyburz (SUI)
  • 2. Emil Svensk (SWE)
  • 3. Nicolas Rio (FRA)


  • 1. Lucas Baset (FRA)
  • 2. Eskil Kinneberg (NOR)
  • 3. Olav Lundanes (NOR)


  • 1. Sabine Hauswirth (SUI)
  • 2. Lisa Risby (SWE)
  • 3. Thrane Miri Oedum (DEN)


  • 1. Tove Alexandersson (SWE)
  • 2. Simona Aebersold (SUI)
  • 3. Andrine Benjaminsen (NOR)


  • 1. Marie Olaussen (NOR)
  • 2. + 3. Johanna Oberg (SWE) + Sarina Kyburz (SUI)